NewsWHSFL 2008 Awards Banquet

On Friday night the Winnipeg High School Football League officially ended the 2008 season with the annual Awards Banquet at CanadInns Polo Park. Many Crusaders were nominated and some Crusaders took home trophies and honours.


            For the first time the WHSFL presented the Home Run Sports All-Division Team for each of the 3 divisions. In the Vidruk Division, the AA Crusaders placed three members on the Home Run Sports All-Division team including receiver Brad McGregor, offensive lineman Alex Megyeri and linebacker Jordan Moncek. In the Potter Division, the AAA Crusaders placed four members on the Home Run Sports All-Division team including receiver Scott Naujoks, offensive lineman Andrew Kochan, quarterback Nicholas Cobb, and defensive back Brad Skinner.


Brad Skinner was also selected as the winner of the Jim Foubister Award as the best example of a player who combines playing ability, sportsmanship, leadership, and school or community citizenship. Andrew Kochan was selected as the Potter Division’s recipient of the Kas Vidruk Award, presented to the most outstanding lineman. Nicholas Cobb was presented as the Potter Division’s Elite Performance Center’s Offensive Player of the Year. Finally, Andrew Kochan was selected as a co-winner of the league’s highest honor, the Harry Hood Award. The Harry Hood Award is presented annually to the player who best combines the highest level of playing ability, academic ability and school/community citizenship.


The recognition received and awards presented are a reflection of the outstanding seasons that both the AAA and AA Crusader Football teams had. Congratulations.



Date Posted

November 24, 2008 at 4:08pm

This is a question?